## **Northern Territory Chronicle 1988**

January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December

Date	Item
2 February	Prince Charles and Princess Diana commence a two day visit to the Northern Territory.
Return to top of	document
11 March	The Spencer and Gillen Gallery (later renamed the Central Australian Museum), a regional branch of the Museums and Art Galleries Board of the Northern Territory, officially opens in Alice Springs.
27 March	Singapore Airlines becomes the fifth international airline to operate regular weekly services to Darwin.
Return to top of	document
6 April	The Fifth Hatton Ministry of nine is appointed, following the resignation of Ray Hanrahan. Tom Harris returns to the Ministry and Eric Poole is appointed for the first time.
23 April	The Atrium Hotel opens on the Esplanade, Darwin.
Return to top of	document
Мау	The Cullen Bay Marina Agreement is signed in Darwin.
Return to top of	document
12 June	Prime Minister Bob Hawke makes his Burunga statement, calling for a treaty between Aboriginals and government on behalf of all Australians.
13 June	In the Queen's Birthday honours list, Commissioner Peter McAulay QPM is appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for public service, particularly with the Northern Territory Police Force. Commodore Eric Johnston AM (Mil) OBE is appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for service to the Crown and to the people of the Northern Territory.
Return to top of	<u>document</u>
July	Headquarters Northern Command is created in Darwin, entrusted to plan and conduct the defence of the Northern Territory and the Kimberley.
1 July	From this date, for inter-governmental financial purposes the Northern Territory is treated by the Commonwealth as a State.
2 July	The first Greek Glenti, organised by the President of the Greek Community School Committee, Mr Stavros Kanaris, and the President of the Greek Community, Mrs Lillian Gomatos, is held in Darwin.
14 July	Marshall Perron is elected Chief Minister, succeeding Steve Hatton, and the First Perron Ministry of nine is appointed. Mike Reed replaces Steve Hatton in the Ministry.
31 July	The Second Perron Ministry of eight is appointed, following the resignation of Don Dale because of ill health.
Return to top of	<u>document</u>

Winfield sponsors the Darwin Turf Club's Bicentennial Cup, with prize money reaching \$100,000 for the first time. The race is won by Templeman.	
<u>ocument</u>	
At the Flynn by-election the CLP loses the seat previously held by Ray Hanrahan to Mr Enzo Floreani (Northern Territory Nationals). The party balance in the Legislative Assembly becomes CLP 15, ALP six, Northern Territory Nationals two and Independents two.	
<u>ocument</u>	
The 1988 Paralympics commence. Territorian Paralympian Sam Rickard wins the bronze medal in the 800 m event at the Games.	
The first Private Hospital in the Northern Territory is officially opened, after initially operating from one floor of the Royal Darwin Hospital.	
Return to top of document	
Alice Springs celebrates the 100 th anniversary of its proclamation as a town.	
Return to top of document	
Pioneer Walk and Bicentennial Park are opened along The Esplanade, Darwin.	
The Cullen Bay marina and housing development commences in Darwin.	
The Darwin to Katherine electricity transmission line is commissioned.	

Prepared by Steve Bennett, Research Officer, Government House, Darwin

Edited by His Honour Neil Conn AO, Administrator of the Northern Territory